logo English | 简体中文 | 繁體中文 | 한국어 | 日本 | India

Scopus Award 2017

NASI-Scopus Young
Scientist Awards 2017

The Scopus Young Scientist Awards were first launched by Elsevier in 2006. In 2009, India officially adopted the program within its scientific community through Elsevier's collaboration with NASI. The program honors young researchers who are building their careers in academic research, helping them gain recognition for their work. As of 2016, 92 winners across nine scientific disciplines have been announced.

The NASI – Scopus Young Scientist of the year will receive:

• A citation & a plaque
• Cash prize of INR 75,000

This year NASI Scopus Awards would support & align with national missions of Startup India, Healthy India and Clean India. If your research (both basic and applied) is empowering or can be a helpful technological tool for the above mentioned national missions, do not forget to mention it in your application as it can give your application an additional weightage.

Awards were given in the following 9 areas of Science, Technology & Medicine:
Biological sciences
Earth, Oceanographic & Environmental Studies
Social Sciences
Criteria for Application
An Indian citizen, residing and working in India
Have completed atleast PhD/MD or equivalent degree
Must be born on or after January 1st, 1977.

Application Process-

We would like to express our gratitude to the Indian scientific community for their immense support for NASI Scopus Awards in the year 2016. We received hundreds of applications this year across 9 different subject categories.

More than 600 applications were submitted for the 2016 NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards from researchers of premier academic institutions across India. Elsevier provided quantitative analyses from Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and applications were judged by a panel of 32 subject experts from India's academic community on criteria as:

• Quality and number of publications

• Nature and uniqueness of research

• Outcomes of research

• Impact on society

• Vision of the researcher

Screening Process: 

Subject Category

1st Screening

2nd Screening

Shortlisted Applicants


    20- Jul-17





Biological sciences

    22- Jul- 17












Earth, Oceanographic & Environment Sciences



Dr. Smitha V Thampi- Scientist SE

Space Physics Laboratory, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Kerala

Dr. Tulasiram Sudarsanam- Associate Professor

Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Navi Mumbai

Dr. Vikram Vishal- Assistant Professor

Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai

Dr. Roxy Mathew Koll- Scientist D

Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune











Mr. Sameer Chavan- Associate Professor

IIT Kanpur

Dr. Nitin Saxena- Associate Professor

IIT Kanpur

Dr. Anish Ghosh- Associate Professor

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Centre, Mumbai









   20- Jul-17

Dr. Bijaya Kumar Sahoo-Associate Professor

Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad

Dr. Rajan Jha-Assistant Professor

Indian Institute of Technology, Odisha

Dr. Smarajit Karmakar-Assistant Professor

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Hyderabad

Dr. K. G. Arun- Associate Professor

Chennai Mathematical Institute, Tamil Nadu

Dr. Goutam Sheet-Assistant Professor

Indian Institute Science & Education Research, Mohali

Social Sciences



Dr. Anup Kumar Bhandari- Associate Professor

IIT Chennai

Dr. Upasna A Agarwal- Assistant Professor

National Institute of Industrial Engineering, Mumbai

Dr. Chandan Sharma- Associate Professor

IIM Noida

Dr. Hippu Saik Kristle Nathan- Assistant Professor

National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bengaluru


Highlights Of 2016 Award Ceremony:

>>Download Winner's Brochure

Event Highlights - 2016

>> Click to view more images

Scopus   southasia.elsevier.com